Home   Curriculum


Becket Primary School Curriculum Overview

From September 2015 all classes from Year 1 to Year 6 will be following the New National Curriculum. Please follow this link to see what your child will be learning in their year group National curriculum – GOV.UK

Children working in Reception and Nursery are following the Early Years curriculum 2014. Early years (under 5s) foundation stage framework (EYFS) – Publications – GOV.UK.

For all other foundation subjects our curriculum is organised into topics. These are planned into a two year cycle, where if possible connections are made between the different subjects that are being taught. The children will also be practising, developing and applying their reading, writing and maths skills across all of their topics. The topics are organised into the different areas of learning which are listed below:

Historical, geographical and Social Understanding (Includes History, Geography, Religious Education and Foreign language (KS2 only))

Understanding the Arts (Includes Music, Art and Design)

Understanding Science and Technology (Includes Science, Computing, ICT and Design Technology)

Understanding Physical Development, Health and Well – being (Includes P.E and Personal, Social and Health Education)

Our topics are planned in phases – Foundation Stage, Year 1 + 2, Year 3 + 4 and Year 5 + 6. The detailed plans will include a differentiation of skills, knowledge and understanding for each year group for each subject in the areas of learning.

Some of our topics will last for one full term, some will be shorter units of work. In some year groups there will be continuous building up of skills for example in the Masterchef challenges in keystage one and the Geography Detectives work in key stage 2.

The school follows the Derbyshire Agreed R.E syllabus 2014. The principal aim of R.E is to enable pupils to participate in ongoing search for wisdom, through exploring questions raised by human experience and answers offered by the religions and beliefs of the people of Derbyshire and the wider community, so as to promote their personal development. The children will be learning about religions and beliefs and learning from different religions and beliefs.

Our Topic Cycles 2015

Curriculum Policy

Translate »